Tigers are strong swimmers

625i1468avw

625i1527asvw


After the
tragic incident of the white tigers attacked and killed the cleaner in the Singapore Zoo I am starting to find out more about these animals in the Wikipedia and they are adorable and beautiful animals.

According to a poll conducted by Animal Planet, the tiger was voted the world’s favourite animal, narrowly beating man’s best friend, the dog. And the tiger is regarded as the king of the jungle in most parts of Asia, because its forehead has a marking which resembles the Chinese character , which means “king”

Tigers come in a large range of sizes, but the biggest tigers are as big as lions.Siberian tigers are the largest and have extra shaggy fur to fend off the cold.Tiger coats have widely spaced black stripes over orange on top and white underneath.

Do you know that there is no one tiger that has the same pattern of stripes? The pattern of stripes is unique to each animal, and thus could potentially be used to identify individuals, much in the same way as fingerprints are used to identify people

And White tigers are the same species as other tigers, just without the orange color.All the white tigers in captivity are descendents of Bengal Tigers.

The most common species of tigers are the following:

The Bengal tiger or the Royal Bengal tiger (Panthera tigris tigris)
The Indochinese tiger (Panthera tigris corbetti),
The Malayan tiger (Panthera tigris malayensis
The Sumatran tiger (Panthera tigris sumatrae)
The Siberian tiger (Panthera tigris altaica
The South China tiger (Panthera tigris amoyensis),

Among the big cats (generally refer to the tiger, lion, leopard, and jaguar ) only the tiger and jaguar are strong swimmers. Tigers are often found bathing in ponds, lakes and rivers.

I saw two Malayan tigers in the Zoo Negara, not sure of their genders but I believe they must be a male and a female. During my first visit to the Zoo Negara I missed the shot as I don’t know their habits and passion of life.

The Zoo worker tipped me to come the next day in the afternoon if I want to capture them swimming. These animals will cool their bodies in the hot afternoon sun.

The two animals did not swim together. The tiger will go down to the water from the same spot and come out to the other end. They will repeat again and again. Many opportunities are waiting for you if you like to capture them in action. You won’t miss it.

So these were the photos taken during my second visit which I captured them swimming. I took these photos with my canon camera and a 70-200mm telephoto lens


625i1522asw

625i1528asvw

625i1532asvw

12 responses to “Tigers are strong swimmers

  1. thanks for your comment 🙂
    i think i checked your blog 5 times yesterday to see if these photos were up yet ..

    i envy you for getting these priceless photos! i would pay to have these on my wall at home & so would my brother!

    my favourite are the last three, they look so friendly & quiet 🙂

    & i have a HUGE obsession with reflection photogaphy at the moment & these made my day

    🙂 x

  2. Wow! Thanks for letting me know more about the different species of tigers. I love the photos of reflection of the tiger when swimming.

  3. chloé

    I am sorry to keep you waiting as I just returned from Cameron Highland on Sunday. Glad you like it.Thanks! The reflection of the tiger will look better if I have a longer telephoto lens.

  4. WOW how cool is that
    and all the info is really good to know
    They really are such beautiful creatures and you captured them well.
    I know what you mean about the longer lens. Thats in my visual-dream bucket too. For bird capture mostly
    Abundance n Peace
    CheyAnne

  5. Tigers are amazing creatures and one of the few cat species that like to swim. The second to last photo with the tigers refection is marvelous!

  6. Woh! These are definitely prize-winning photos! The reflections in the water around the tiger are simply fascinating. Glad you took the tip given by the zoo-keeper about the tigers swimming and captured these shots. Congratulations.

    About your Cameron Highlands trip, when can we see the photos of the rose gardens and tea plantations? Or of other interesting things?

  7. Fantastic shots, I love the reflections, well done !!

  8. You’ve done it again, Chrisy. What a treat to read about all the ‘cats’ and also to see your fabulous pictures. You win a prize with those pictures!

  9. Hi Amazing photography. Mindblowing shots. Keep it up.
    Regards.

    http://bigbracket.wordpress.com

  10. Dear all
    Thank you for dropping by and leaving me some nice comments

  11. woow love your tiger shots, some look wild.

  12. In fact, cats are excellent swimmers, especially the Indian tigers, which in summer due to high heat entering the water to cool. It is even recorded that the Indian tigers attack humans pop up from the water.

Leave a comment